The Republic of Tatarstan , or simply Tatarstan, is a federal subject (a republic) of the Russian Federation, located in the Volga Federal District. Its capital is the city of Kazan.The area of the republic is 68,000 square kilometres (26,000 sq mi). The unofficial Tatarstan motto is: Bez Buldırabız! (We can!). As of the 2010 Census the population of Tatarstan was 3,786,488

“Tatarstan” derives from the name of the ethnic group—the Tatars—and the Persian suffix -stan (meaning “place of” or “country”, an ending common to many Eurasian countries). Another version of the Russian name is “Tatariya“.